• A
  • A
  • A


  • Įprasta
  • Šviesi
  • Tamsi



In recent years, the Lithuanian Symphonic Wind Orchestra has been focusing on concert opuses and new premieres. One of the main goals of the orchestra is to foster the culture of professional wind concerts in Lithuania. Therefore the programme features virtuoso premieres of works by Lithuanian and international composers brimming with musical excitement and includes works by John Corigliano, Julie Giroux, Florent Schmitt and others. Moreover, the programme includes the colourful Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Ensemble (2011) by the American composer Frank Ticheli, whose stylistic spectrum is full of influences and musical quotations from composers who wrote already popular classics, such as George Gershwin, Aaron Copland and Leonard Bernstein. In addition, the concert features the opus Dionysiaques (1913) by French composer Florent Schmitt, which requires exceptional artistic skill and is considered to be the first work composed for a symphony wind orchestra, as well as Radiant Shadows (2015) by Julie Giroux, a piece rich in sophisticated orchestration. Another special gift is the work Passions by Lithuanian composer and National Prize laureate Zita Bružaitė.

Clarinet Rimvydas Savickas

Conductor Leif Karlsson

The premiere took place on 22 September 2021 (Wednesday), 19:00, at St. Catherine’s Church (Vilniaus St. 30, Vilnius)