• A
  • A
  • A


  • Įprasta
  • Šviesi
  • Tamsi

Neoclassical Paris

The latest programme of the State Wind Instrument Orchestra Trimitas, called “Neoclassical Paris”, was presented to its listeners neoclassical interpretations for wind instruments of the early 20th century and contemporary composers. The old styles and genres which resonated ingeniously in the imaginations of the composers of the last century gave rise to new musical forms that became a counterbalance to the fashions of German Expressionism after World War I.

In the concert, the orchestra played opuses by Paul Abraham Dukas, Joseph Maurice Ravel Ravel, Florent Schmitt and other French composers. The programme also included two rarely performed chrestomatic works of this aesthetic, Symphony for Winds by Igor Stravinsky, who lived and worked in Paris from 1920 to 1939, and Concerto for Piano and Winds, full of refined elegance and rhythmic inventiveness. The latter was performed by the Lithuanian pianist Daumantas Kirilauskas, who is especially appreciated for his subtly expressive interpretations of classical and contemporary music. Daumantas Kirilauskas is a laureate of numerous national and international competitions, and since 2019 he has been a Bösendorder artist.